Tania's Words

here is an empty shell- a resonant shadow- waiting

The cold that killed my will to write.

Welcome to the procrastination station. All are welcome.

No seriously. I finished Emma today, which means I have to read Austen’s unpublished works and letters next, but I don’t have them, and forgot to borrow them. I had already decided that once I was done with the madness of the Austen spree, I’d edit the Beach House, I should be doing that. Instead, I am listening to Muse and facebook stalking several people who would probably prefer not to be the victims of my laziness. I’m just saying.

And the thing is, I want to finish the book. I want to edit it. But I have the cold from Hades (Seriously, this is the cold that will not die), I’ve eaten approximately 900 calories (probably because I have some amazing post nasal drip that is absolutely killing my appetite), and I worked out with Maura. We did the Biggest Loser Last Chance Workout, with heavy weights. After that, really I have enough energy left over to…lay in bed and stare at a wall?

But really, I know once I get started editing, I’ll get sucked in. Its just the getting started part that sucks. I know there are a lot of missing scenes to be written, which mentally are more taxing that regular editing.  If I knew what I wanted to write in those missing scenes I would have done it when I wrote it, or edited the first two times. Sigh. I am complaining I know.  At least I have Muse to keep me company.  Plus, really, why am I putting so much effort into this book? The chances of it actually getting published are ridiculously small. The chances of anyone other than my friends (who really, probably feel like they have to read it) reading it just as small. I guess I’ll just have to enjoy the fruits of my labor alone.

At least, at the end of the day, I’ll have written a book.  Writing is the best therapy sometimes, and goodness knows I am in need of some serious therapy. Plus, I think it is especially beneficial to keep my creative muscle exercised and ready to go, in case I shall ever have any need to use it in an emergency. Like, if the only way to prevent nuclear holocaust was by writing an amazing poem in five minutes….or something.

Speaking of creativity, I went to Michael’s, aided by a wonderful gift card my father-in-law gave me for Christmas. Went mad with the promise of shiny new scrap booking tools. Shopped my little heart out. Came home and organized said scrap booking stuff.  Now, I must scrap book with them. Which should be fun as I am making Parker’s baby book. Scrap booking is much more fun with friends though, so I’ll wait until Pilar or Maura or Laura can scrap book with me. Until then,I must,  I must, I must write my book (anyone but me flashback to Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret? I must, I must, I must increase my bust….)

1 Comment»

  Lori wrote @

i say your tbc “Are you there god, it’s me, Margret” really, it’s the only book that matters 🙂


Leave a Reply

