Tania's Words

here is an empty shell- a resonant shadow- waiting

Promises

I make promises all the time.

I’ll read the 10 books on my year of reading resolution list.

I’ll write poetry everyday, or at least spend 10 minutes a day writing.

I’ll buy chapbooks for poets I’ve never heard of.

I’ll parent without frustration.

My kids won’t watch too much tv.

I promise I’ll clean according to this schedule I’ve made.

Exercise.

Blog.

Make something of this life I know in my heart was meant to include words. This gift I first felt as a little girl, a hot little burning of promise and potential and the need, need, need to let it expand and find it’s way onto paper and into words and the world.

It’s so easy as a parent and adult to let go of little promises we’ve made. I’ll do it tomorrow, right?

Future is so fragile, but somehow, another promise we count on stubbornly and foolishly.

So it’s not much, but this is a single blog that’s my dedication to the promises I’ve made, pulled out and thrown here, without as much thought or ceremony as I’d maybe like.

2 Comments»

  Kristin wrote @

One entry at a time πŸ™‚ Very happy to read this today.

  Kristen wrote @

What a nice surprise to see this in my inbox! I think we all feel that way about the promises we make to ourselves. Raising kiddos is a difficult (but also fleeting!) season of life. If we are nurturing our souls and our families, I think that is huge. Everything else is bonus πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

